So now I’m a chefy.

So the newest “trend” right now is to be a “recessionista”.

It’s debatable who originally coined the phrase, but whether you like it or not, it’s pretty true.  McDonalds and WalMart stock is up, and it’s not because they’re doing something exciting and new.  Truth is, people are still going to go out to eat and buy stuff, they’re just trying to do it a little more frugally.

So if you used to eat at Morton’s, maybe now you eat at Outback Steak House.  (Although Outback is still a tad pricey, if you ask me, but I wasn’t eating at Morton’s in the first place…).    If you used to eat at Friday’s, maybe now it’s McDonalds (Dollar menu – Hollah!).

Or maybe you, like so many people, are “nesting”.    You know, sticking close to home, breaking out the pots and pans you got for your wedding but haven’t actually cooked with yet.

So working at Pampered Chef has allowed me some certain exposure to some pretty great stuff that’s great for “chef-ing” at home.  Let me tell you three beautiful words… Deep Covered Baker.

I wouldn’t write about it if it weren’t true.  I just got one and the first thing I made in it is BBQ pork ribs IN THE MICROWAVE in about 1/2 an hour.  They were AMAZING.

So if you get a chance, consider picking one up – I’m not sure how the kitchen magicians made this thing so amazing, but they did.  It’s about $69 or so, unless you have a Pampered Chef show, then you can get it much cheaper (that’s what I did).
In case you’re wondering – here’s the whole recipe, I winged it based on some stuff I learned at work.

Take some pork ribs.  Cut off the silver skin (if you don’t know what that is, look up this video on how to use a boning knife. They show you how

Rub in some seasoning. Maybe some BBQ seasoning, maybe some salt and pepper. I used Jamaican Jerk seasoning because that’s what I had in my cabinet.

Cut the ribs apart from each other (don’t bother trying to take them off the bone).

Pile them in the Deep Covered Baker, put the lid on, stick them in the microwave for about 30 minutes.   Take them out and slather on some BBQ sauce.  If  you bought a big rack of ribs and you want to be really sure they’re done, stick them in for another 10 minutes or so.

Delish!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

