“When a habit begins to cost money, it’s called a hobby.” – Jewish Proverb

 

Blogging is not a hobby.

Neither is reading, if you ask my husband.

He’s decided that I need a hobby of my own, and a “hobby” means something scheduled.  There is no “pick up and go” with a hobby, oh no. It must be planned in advance and on a calendar.  And according to him, I need to get planning.

To be fair, he only has my best interests at heart.  He’s knee deep in training for his bout at the Maccabi games in July, and he wants to make sure I’m not lonely while he’s training twice a day. 

I bristled when he ganged up on me with a friend to suggest I needed to get a hobby now, while the getting’ was good.  Because after we have babies, it will be harder to have my own time to do things for fun on a regular basis.  They said I should go to the local college and find a class in which I’m interested.

Well I tried that, and I didn’t find a class I’m excited about.  Something about “adult education” seemed sort of lonely to me. I’m not judging, just projecting.

So I looked elsewhere, and guess what I found?

Flirtease.

It’s more expensive than the local college, but a heck of a lot more fun than painting by numbers, too.  And hey, my husband can’t complain I’m not learning anything useful.

 Sign me up!

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to ““When a habit begins to cost money, it’s called a hobby.” – Jewish Proverb”

  1. Jen Says:

    I have the perfect hobby. It involves a specific training plan and money: marathon training! 🙂

    Just think about it: you and me running for 4+ glorious hours in the Chicago Marathon in October!

    Chop, chop..lace up those shoes..you have alot of miles to start covering!

    🙂

  2. aK Says:

    So when do you start?

Leave a Reply

