“And Gosh Darn It, People Like Me!”


Have you ever tried “Affirmations”?

You know, it’s where you tell yourself something over and over to hopefully make yourself believe it.  It’s one of those self-fulfilling prophecies that only really works if you already believe it really works.

So lately I’m listening to a positive affirmation CD.  I pretty much only listen to a few sections, because even though I believe it does a tiny bit of good – even I can’t stomach a full hour of it on my evening commute.

The section I listen to most consistently involves work.

Specifically, it involves being positive about things so that they can thrive. The theory being that a “plant can grow in well nourished soil, but does not grow so well in dry, barren soil”.  In other words – think happy thoughts and more happy things will happen.

You know, the Power of Attraction and all that.

My favorite thing they tell you to do is to “bless everything in your office with love. Bless the chairs, bless the plants, bless the staircase…”     right. You get the point.  Cheesy? Of course.  But can it hurt?  Not as long as nobody else hears you saying it loud.

In the case of people that love their job but want more money (who’s with me?) this is especially important. You must “bless your income so it can grow”.

Absolutely.  This seems like a very reasonable task, and I’m happy to do it.

Let the records show that  I bless the HECK out of my salary.  I WORSHIP my income.  I think my paycheck is the best thing that has ever happened to anyone, ever.  (bless bless bless, grow grow grow…)

If blessing my desk and cubicle walls will help (and they say it will)- I’m blessing those too.

Feel free to shoot me some blessings of your own, if you wish.  Just like you can usually find a Starbucks where Panera Bread hangs out, I have to think Karma probably hangs out with Affirmational thinking. 

You like good Karma, don’t you?

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One Response to ““And Gosh Darn It, People Like Me!””

  1. Jen Says:

    Bless your plethora of makeup supplies. 🙂

Leave a Reply

