I love the Nightlife! I got to Boogie!

 

Oh sure, I’ve gone clubbing in the past – and for a few years I could drink myself to the point that I believed I was a good dancer.  But that was a time way back when I was in my early 20’s and club beats warranted a certain kind of flailing and spinning that could be passed off as “sexy” – or at least “interesting”.  Not that I was, just that I thought I was.

  

In fact, here’s a direct quote from my friend:

… You start out kind of mellow but the intensity slowly increases until you hit that “dancing peak” which I can only describe as some kind of rhythmicly synchronized grand mal contortion”

    

 

Anyway, times have changed, and I don’t go out much anymore.  And my dancing has largely been reduced to various iterations of my “happy dance” (it involves doing ridiculous flailing and spinning.  This time I know I look ridiculous.  That’s part of the fun).

 

kasia-at-nacional27-013109

She's a Laaay-day.

 

My friend decided we should go dancing downtown Chicago for her birthday.  A terrific idea!  Except she hadn’t seen my dancing handiwork.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And when I heard that it was a “no jeans allowed” club, well, that just made my situation worse.  The last time I wore non-jeans was when I was doing the “sexy” flail and spin.  Those non-jeans are also known as bar-pants or party-pants – typically black, stretchy pants that looked a lot better on my 21-year-old butt than they do on my now 30-year-old-butt.

  

The day of the dancing I woke up early and tried to make a go of finding something salsa-appropriate… and as luck would have it I walked in to a Loehmans (at which I’d never really shopped before).  Let me tell you, that store may have just saved my partying life.
This wasn't an accident
Love. It.     

  

 
 

 

salsa-dancing-pics-with-the-wolnys-013109

I do love me some mojitos.

So we went to the club and let me tell you, that place is awesome for ego-boosts. Never in my life have I actually had a line of guys waiting to ask me to dance.  But there they were. 

 

As luck (or mercy) would have it, the first guy to ask me to dance was actually a latin dance instructor (could he see that clearly that I was going to need assistance?)…

This is a good example of the guys we danced with

This is one of our gals, demonstrating how we danced with all the fun guys

 

 

 

 

From there on out my friends and I had full dance cards and by the end of the night, our feet blistered, swollen and stomped on, we were happy and exhausted. 

kate-and-the-wolny-girls-013109

 

 

In the end, I even a little bit believed what many accented men told me that night … “you a good dancer!”)

 

Kasia is the belle of the ball!

Kasia is the belle of the ball!

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , ,

No Responses to “I love the Nightlife! I got to Boogie!”

  1. Howard Giske Says:

    The pictures look great, but did you ever go to Blackpool Latin and Modern competitions in England, it’s so romantic.

    I have the videotape of 1999 when the Hiltons retired. Check it out, that is the best competition in the world.

    http://cgi.ebay.com/The-74th-BlackPool-Dance-Championships-of-the-World_W0QQitemZ120387228760QQcmdZViewItemQQptZVHS?hash=item120387228760&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=72%3A1205%7C66%3A2%7C65%3A12%7C39%3A1%7C240%3A1318%7C301%3A1%7C293%3A1%7C294%3A50

Leave a Reply

